The Guge kingdom was found by great grand son the last Tibetan king Langdharma, Yeshe Woe in tenth century with Tholing as its capital. He has become very popular figure in Tibetan history for his role in revival of Buddhism in Tibet. He found three monasteries; Tholing monastery, Tabo monastery (now in India) and the Khochar monastery. and invite Atisha to preach Buddhism in Tibet.
The capital of kingdom was shift from Purang to Tsaparang. In 1624 Father Antonio del Andrade, a Portuguese Jesuit came to the kingdom and succeed in converting many locals into Catholic and few churches were built. However due to the locals resentment to the conversion, there were internal conflict. Buddhist approached the kingdom of Lhadakh to intervene. The Lhadakhis waiting for such opportunity, invade the kingdom and eliminate christian from the region. In year 1679 the kingdom were conquered by the Lhasa government under the leadership of fifth Dalai Lama. These two invasions cause considerable damages to the kingdom.
The explorer has found over 1416 surviving pieces of architectural site. Most them found in the white temple, red temple and the kings palace. In the red temple we will see the original painting depicting the welcoming of Atisha into Tibet, and women dancing in lines.
Tsanda county is locates on 3800 meters above sea level, and it is famous for the ruins of the lost kigdom and vast stretches of clay forest. Explorer has found over 400 rooms, 800 caves, fortesses, secret paths, pagodas and granaries. Yet many wonders of the kingdom are still not fully expose to the modern explorer. It is listed under the frist group of cultural relics of national importance under the protection of state. And the government at all level are trying to preserve this medieval relic of Tibetan culture.